PDA

View Full Version : Picking Up Grappling/Wrest

c3p
12-27-2006, 01:58 PM
Hello Guys.

I recently have developed an interest for grappling over the past few weeks. Mainly because I like the physiques and just, well...WRESTLING!

I really would like to get involved in the wrestling team at my school, but I do not think I could make the team, wrestling isn't even that popular in Texas, since I have no past experience.

Does anyone have any suggestions for getting started?

Maybe some good videos, websites, books, techniques?

Anything would be appreciated. :strong:

Bicster
12-27-2006, 04:12 PM
Hello Guys.
wrestling isn't even that popular in Texas. :strong:

Uhh, how long have you been in TX?

c3p
12-27-2006, 04:55 PM
I was born in Houston and I have been here all my life. I wasn't even exposed to wrestling until a few weeks ago. :scratch:

Kevin89
12-27-2006, 10:46 PM
I think you can just join the wrestling team in most schools with out being on the team, you will still be able to go to the practices and learn

c3p
12-28-2006, 11:07 AM
Na, I asked this kid on the team and he said they the coach don't teach you anything. Which infuriates me. :swear:

KevinStarke
12-28-2006, 11:33 AM
Then what does the coach do...?

c3p
12-28-2006, 12:45 PM
I guess pretty much supervise the kids.

Back on topic please.

phatmonky
12-29-2006, 09:00 AM
You're in Houston - I KNOW there are several places teaching BJJ in houston.

Go find one and join.

c3p
12-29-2006, 03:07 PM
Really? Well, I am going to join the team anyways.

Unholy
12-29-2006, 03:10 PM
Best of luck and if you dont learn from the coach Im sure you will learn alot from your team members. Wrestling is HUGE in NY

shootermcgavin7
12-29-2006, 06:09 PM
If the coach is that bad, I'm sure there are tons of camps in the offseason. You may have to suffer through one year where you aren't as technically sound as some people, but you can definitely correct this in the off-season if you are really dedicated.