PDA

View Full Version : Cardio and 'Bulking'

The_Chicken_Daddy
03-20-2001, 08:32 AM
Ok, i'm 'Bulking' as it were.

I haven't done and cardio for quite a while which is a shame cause i used to be really fit.

If i get up early on a morning and do say a 20 minute jog (three days a week) will this really affect me putting on size?

Benefits i can think of: Improved fitness, better/stronger/fitter heart, possible decrease in bodyfat maybe?(is that possible whilst eating alot of calories?) and it would also give me some direction. What i mean by this is that i would get up 30 minutes earlier and see more ofthe best part of the day. Also, i would have to go to bed earlier which would mean i spend less time on the net, cause lets face it, i have nearly a million posts on here ---> i'm a loser. It needs sorting out.

Give me your views thank you.

hemants
03-20-2001, 09:00 AM
I'm no expert but I believe there are two issues with cardio and bulking:

1. Calories - when bulking, you want to eat more calories then you expend. In theory, if this was the only issue, you could eat extra to compensate for the cardio at no cost to your bulking.

2. Recouperative ability - When bulking, it is not only your muscles that need the resources of your body. Working out hard taxes your entire system thus increasing cardio may redirect these resources and prevent optimal recouperation.

I think 15 or 20 minutes is more of a warmup and probably doesn't deplete your glycogen stores so I wouldn't worry. To be safe you may want to eat a carb snack before your jog so as not to hinder your bulking.

My unscientific $0.02

Paul Stagg
03-20-2001, 09:44 AM
But a valuable $.02.

I agree. I find that doing some limited cardio actually improves my lifting.

20 mins, 2 or 3 times a week.

YMMV

03-20-2001, 09:46 AM
If your doing HIIT cardio in the morning on an empty stomach I believe 15 to 20 minutes is definately enough time to deplete your glycogen stores.