PDA

View Full Version : Depletion/Refeeds

Lotus
01-21-2007, 09:21 AM
I am new to this board, but not new to this whole idea of depletion workouts vs. refeeds...However, I am in need of some feedback and new perspectives, so if anyone has a theory about this, I would appreciate hearing it.

Here's the low down:
I have been on a diet cycle for over 6 months and have not had any "progress" not a lb lost, not an inch lost. I have been doing a depletion/refeed cycle for 3.5 weeks and still nothing. It is a brief cycle, 2 days deplete w/ 30g veggie carbs only and then my protein and fat. Then I do a re-feed on the 3d day but only for my first 3 meals, followed by my HIIT training after my muscles have recieved the glycogen...I realize it's only 3.5 weeks, however, I have been cycling in various forms for 6 months prior to this cycle.

So my question is this: Does anyone have any ideas as to why this might be happening? I had to do a metabolic repair cycle, as well, so maybe it's all metabolism, but is that really that realistic to think?
I am just out of ideas as to why my body is not responding to anything whatsoever. I had my thyroid tested and that's all good....so apparently, I'm just a total freak or something....

Mr. D
01-21-2007, 09:42 AM
Check out Ultimate Diet 2.0 by Lyle McDonald. It seems to be a good fit in terms of diet and training for you. Its a 7 day cycle.

Lotus
01-21-2007, 10:50 AM
Thanks.

I have that book, read it but didn't pick up the cycle because I prefer the 5 day cycle that I was put on.

My issue isn't so much finding a depletion cycle that is effective as finding out why it may not be effective. I am not sure if anyone else has ever hit this same wall or struggled with this issue.

I just don't seem to respond to anything. My food is very clean, workouts are intense and cardio in place. Doesn't make sense to me so I just wanted to see if anyone had heard of anything that might be a factor.

the doc
01-21-2007, 12:10 PM