PDA

View Full Version : Am I ready for westside?

mickyjune26
02-07-2007, 10:03 AM
i ask this in fear that i'm beating a dead horse, but i'm not sure.

Am i ready for westside, as describe in the WBB article:

http://www.wannabebig.com/article.php?articleid=46

I want to compete in a powerlifting meet in 2008. My goal is 325 bench, 425 squat, and 500 deads. I'm currently at 225 bench, 225+ squat, and 315 deads. I've been lifting on and off for 3 years. I weigh around 205 and am 6'7".

Mike G
02-07-2007, 10:35 AM
I think anyone is ready to use Westside that has an understanding of how to do it. It's when you start to focus on weak areas that you need more experience. Mainly because most people need a good base to find out what is lagging. I could be wrong, but that is what I have been told and experienced.

mickyjune26
02-07-2007, 11:29 AM
i agree, because when I saw that powerlifters do a lot of core work, I was really excited. My core is the weakest part of my squat...ie getting out of the hole.

Sidior
02-07-2007, 11:34 AM
When I started powerlifting I jumped right into westside. It was alot of fun but I put too much emphasis on accessory work and big 3 variations instead of directly training the big 3. For someone new to powerlifting make sure to focus on the big 3 more than anything. Also certain exercises are more beneficial to equipped lifting than raw lifting. Decide what you will be competing in first (ie raw, single ply, double ply whatever), then adjust your training accordingly.

dw06wu
02-07-2007, 02:31 PM
I think the thing is, you're fine doing westside if you get the program figured out and you do it correctly. But, you can have just as good gains with an easier routine. That's where you're at right now.

Mike G
02-07-2007, 04:35 PM
I think the thing is, you're fine doing westside if you get the program figured out and you do it correctly. But, you can have just as good gains with an easier routine. That's where you're at right now.