PDA

View Full Version : How to eat properly on a budget?

bonehead
02-11-2007, 02:52 AM
Most of the people I've talked to, say that apart from working out in the gym, you must also eat a proper diet to get the physique you want. E.g it should have a large amount of proteins and smaller amounts of carbs and fats, etc. In addition, you should also use supplements like Creatin and protein shakes, etc.

I am a student and for the next 2 years I will be. I'm just going to move out in a few months, and my guess is I'll have to do many part-time jobs to be able to pay the rent, food, and my college fees, etc. That means:

- I might not be able to eat 6 meals a day, as I'd be at work in the afternoons and evenings, and because:
a) If I repeatedly have to get off work to have my meals, the manager might want to fire me.
b) I probably won't find food that fits my diet around where I work.
c) If I'm to cook the food myself and take it to work, it'd become a pain to carry it around everywhere (I'd probably ride a bike around town), and to explain to my mates/colleagues why I do it.

- I might not be able to afford to eat a chicken breast twice a day, or creatine or other supplements. In fact, I might have to settle for a diet full of carbs/fats.

Inspite of all these things, I really want to change my physique and wow my friends when I come back home in 2 years. (I'm moving out of country to study for 2 years). I am willing to do whatever it takes.. and I'd hate to return home all skinny because of having to work all day.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? What should I do??

Mr. D
02-11-2007, 09:56 AM
Cottage Cheese is cheap. Peanut butter is pretty cheap (even natural ones from generic brands like Target or Kroger). Milk is reasonable as is yogurt. I would say buy Nitrean from atlargenutrition and make some homemade shakes that you can sip on while at work.

Oats are cheap as well. Buy foods in bulk.

What country are you moving to and which country are you leaving?