PDA

View Full Version : 1st powerlift meet 3 weeks

dtshen
03-23-2007, 09:21 PM
i've been lifting for about 2 years and i'll be competing in a powerlifting meet in 3 weeks. i'm curious what I can do in those 3 weeks to get my numbers up as high as possible. there is no gear allowed aside from straps and belt.

currently i'm sitting at around a 300 bench, 300 squat and 450 dead. There doesnt seem to be much interest in the meet. Likely there will be less than 5 people in my weight class.

what do you suggest on nutrition the day of the meet?

an hour or two before the meet? lots of dextrose?

Unholy
03-23-2007, 09:27 PM
3 weeks isn't much time. I would try to work on any weak points for 2 weeks and give it a good weeks rest before the meet. Are you training within your competition weight? Diet really depends on your weight I would guess. If your 230lb and competing in the 242 class eat like an animal. If your normally around 245-248lbs and drying out a bit to get down into your weight class you have to be more careful. btw I pulled those numbers out of y ass for reference sake.

dtshen
03-23-2007, 10:14 PM
i dont think the weight classes are normal,

i believe the weight class will be 200-230, 230-250 and 250+

dtshen
03-23-2007, 11:41 PM
another thing, i can dumbell flat bench 130s for reps, which means i can probably do 135 at least once.

if i can flat dumbell 135's that means i should be able to barbell flat bench 135*2 = 270/.7 correct?

anyways, i'd be happy with anything over 315.

but since i hardly ever barbell bench, i think i'd struggle with even 300.

what can i do to get my full potential for barbell

PoutineEh
03-24-2007, 09:01 AM
id say just practice using the barbell.

TommyBoy
03-24-2007, 09:09 AM
3 weeks isn't much time. I would try to work on any weak points for 2 weeks and give it a good weeks rest before the meet.