PDA

View Full Version : whats more important, the growth hormone effect from fat post workout or insulin spik

Mr.Buttcheeks
02-21-2002, 03:38 PM
anyone???????how can we say one is better than the other. proof that the insulin spike from carbs is more effective than the gh effect from fats?

Zalxder
02-21-2002, 03:51 PM
I dont get it, do gh's just increase the use of fats? and then insulin just does the same thing with carbs?

plornive
02-21-2002, 04:06 PM
I'm new to this issue, but...

...it seems that carbs are most important at that moment. It is basically the only window of opportunity to replenish glycogen and utilize it's anabolic effects. Growth hormone can be secreted at other times when it doesn't hinder other anabolic hormones. Similarly, I don't think high GI carbs should be consumed at night, when your body is utilizing OTHER hormones (and I know that insulin sensitivity is lower at night, but aside from that...).

I don't think growth hormone did that much for me when I was on a CKD and ate heavy cream and whey protein pudding post-workout. Also, it has long been noticed by many bodybuilders that carbohydrate is the most important macronutrient for bulking.

So, conventional wisdom tells me to eat carbs unless your body is somehow "special".

TreeTrunks
02-21-2002, 05:03 PM
There are many other ways of rasing gh levels working out is one another is sleeping to name a couple. I haven't heard where fat raises gh. I'll look into that. Since there are several other ways to raise gh levels I guess concentrate on the insulin spike.

Budiak
02-21-2002, 05:14 PM
From experience, its carbs.

This is just Budiak theory, something I call Buditheory, but hear me out.