PDA

View Full Version : westside training help

Lones Green
04-29-2007, 09:26 PM
okay, so i started training westside tonight. i'm pretty much the only powerlifter in my city, so theres no one for me to talk to about these training methods. all i got is the articles on westside. i'll write out what lifts i was planning on doing, any help is greatly appreciated.

day 1- DE bench

50% of bench max with bands
OHP
JM press
lateral raises
dips
tricep pushdowns

day 2- ME squats

heavy box squats
front squats
back squats
leg extension
calves
good mornings
rack pulls

day 3- off

day 3- ME bench

flat bench
dumbbell incline bench
board presses
floor presses
front raises

day 4- DE squat/back

box squats w/bands
regular & sumo deads
leg curls
dumbbell rows
cable rows
tbar rows
lat pulls
shrugs

i'm eating around 5000 calories a day, like i've said before i've got nothing else to do right now. im VERY new to westside training, i've been reading a lot about box squats, bands, bench form, etc. help me out guys!

WestsideWarrior
04-29-2007, 09:33 PM
Try this...

Day 1 - ME Bench
Day 2 - ME Squats
Day 4 - DE Bench
Day 5 - DE Squat/dead

But it's whatever you prefer, IMO, it's good to get your heavy days, then your light/speed days

Chubrock
04-29-2007, 09:49 PM
If you plan on competing, you might consider sliding your ME work towards the end of the week, only for the simple reason that your body will be used to lifting heavy on the weekends as opposed to earlier in the week.

Contrary to what Westside (why his name is what it is, I dunno?) suggested, I find that by having the speed work early in the week, my ME lifts go smoother. Could be purely mental, but I do feel that the repetition during my DE days helps ingrain the movement into my mind.