PDA

View Full Version : Self taught Olympic lifting?

timlovesrugby
05-08-2007, 08:48 AM
Was just wondering how safe olypic lifting is without proffessional training?
I cant really find any trainers in my area who i think would be able to teach
(i go to a posh gym in Leeds, UK and like noone ever oly. lifts there / cant find any independant trainers)

Ive have read and watched alot about technique and understand the concepts and stuff. I have also practices with bars and brooms ;P and although my technique looks ok to me in teh mirror (lol) im an cautios about taking the next step.. loading weight on.
Dumbell cleans and snatches have been ok with some weight but i doubt this transfers well to the full lift.

would be grateful for any advice! :D

JHarris
05-08-2007, 08:58 AM
Was just wondering how safe olypic lifting is without proffessional training?
I cant really find any trainers in my area who i think would be able to teach
(i go to a posh gym in Leeds, UK and like noone ever oly. lifts there / cant find any independant trainers)

Ive have read and watched alot about technique and understand the concepts and stuff. I have also practices with bars and brooms ;P and although my technique looks ok to me in teh mirror (lol) im an cautios about taking the next step.. loading weight on.
Dumbell cleans and snatches have been ok with some weight but i doubt this transfers well to the full lift.

would be grateful for any advice! :D

Good questions. If you progress reasonably slowly, you'll probably be safe with the motions, even without a coach. (Though a coach would obviously be preferable.) You will definitely not make as large of gains and there will likely be some form issues, but you'll still reap some of the benefits.