PDA

View Full Version : Power Clean

Scorpion32
05-11-2007, 11:15 AM
I was on another site dealing with sports specific(football). The question was asked why the power clean isn't used in very many programs at any level any more? It is a great lift and I can't even think of why I don't use it in my offseason, other then I don't see anybody else use it. We do high pulls and hang clean but not power. Just wanted to pick peoples brains on this topic.

Scorpion32
05-11-2007, 12:12 PM
To Clean Or Not To Clean,
That Is The Question?
Bill Hrabak
Head Football Coach
Cardinal Stritch High School-Oregon, Ohio

In 1984, when I was an assistant football coach in Cleveland, a friend of mine, Gary Wroblewski, was named the strength coach at Columbia University. While Wroblewski was at Columbia, who would two years later become the strength coach for the Cleveland Browns, he had the opportunity to travel to the then U.S.S.R. and study the Soviets strength and conditioning programs. When Wrobo’s return he told me how he had expected to see all of these new, modern, high tech training techniques but rather he came back with that an old and sometimes avoided(by U.S. athletes) exercise, power cleans, as the main dish on the soviet training menu. Wrobo said that Soviet trainers insisted that "if the soviet athletes could perform only one exercise, it would be power cleans."