PDA

View Full Version : KoolDrew's BGB Journal

KoolDrew
06-10-2007, 10:49 AM
I plan on starting the BGB routine tomorrow and decided I'd post an introduction today before I finally start the routine.

First of all, you can see my progress since I started lifting back in February and a little background in this thread:
http://wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?t=97793

Basically, I lost a ton of weight and am now bulking. My goal is to pack on some serious mass and then cut down below 10% BF. I was using the Starting Strength routine, but decided it was time to switch it up. So, I chose BGB. Also, I tried to do a journal last time, but it didn't work out too well. This time I hope to keep the journal going. That way people can see my progress and I can get advice as I go along.

So, here's my routine:

Day 1: Horizontal push/pull, calves, and abs

T-Bar Rows - 5x5
One-Arm Dumbell Rows - 3x8
Flat Bench - 5x5
Incline dumbbell press - 3x8
Seated Calf Raises (pausing at bottom) - 3x12-20
Ab Crunches (weighted) - 3x8-12

Day 2: Quad dominant, hamstring accessory. Biceps.

Back Squats - 5x5
Front Squats - 3x8
Leg Curls - 3x12-20
EZ-Bar Curls - 5x5
Hammer Curls - 3x8-12

Day 3: Vertical push/pull, calves, and abs

Chins - 5x5
Lat Pulldowns - 3x8
Military Press - 5x5
Arnold Presses - 3x8
Standings Calf Raises - 3x8-10
Ab Crunches (weighted) - 3x8-12

Day 4: Hamstring dominant, quad accessory. Triceps.

Deadlifts - 5x5
Good Mornings - 3x8
Walking Lunges - 3x12-20
Dips - 5x5
Cable Pressdowns - 3x8-12

I am excited to start it tomorrow. The only thing I'm worried about is not being able to set the bar low enough to be able to perform rack pulls. If not, I guess I'll just have to find something to substitute it.

Built
06-10-2007, 11:00 AM
I do racks at just above the knee. You can also do off the floor deads if you prefer.