PDA

View Full Version : Squat Oscillations???

PShabi
06-18-2007, 10:03 PM
Hey Guys,

Great forum here. Hopefully, an expert can give me a little help with a question I have. First, I am a basketball coach and am working my players through a great off-season workout program right now. It's basketball specific and concentrates on explosive power and quickness, and strength with basketball specific movement in mind. We just started a new phase and there is an exercise called "squat oscillations" included in one of our leg workouts. The program I have does a great job explaining the unique lifts, but I'm still having trouble understanding this one. I've searched and searched the internet but I can't find any videos or anything demonstrating it. Can someone provide something for me? Here's the description given by my program manual:

Squat Oscillations:

You will need a partner and a squat rack for this exercise. Your partner will essentially be standing on your thighs as you perform this exercise. The partner uses the squat rack to hold on to the bar or top of it and uses the sides to stand on before starting. To perform, stand in the squat rack with partner in position. Your partner will place feet flat on each uppper thigh, hanging on the bar or top of rack. Lower yourself until knees and hips are fully bent, upper leg parallel to floor. While partner is 'standing' on your thighs, raise yourself up no more than halfway to full extension. Continue this up and down motion in a controlled but quick fashion for desired number of reps.