PDA

View Full Version : Lumiel's BGB Weightlifting Journal

Lumiel
06-22-2007, 10:55 AM
I finally decided to go ahead and start a journal to track my progress in weightlifting. I've decided to start a "Baby Got Back (http://builtblog.wikidbody.com/2007/06/11/baby-got-back/)" (BGB) routine after I was advised that my routine had too many exercises and that I was likely over working certain body parts to the detriment of others.

Here's a little backstory. I have scoliosis (about a 19% S curve) and have always been plagued with back pain or stiffness. Now that I'm in my thirties I wanted to take care of future potential back problems by getting stronger and building more muscle.

I also have one of those body frames where I can either be a big muscle guy or a big fat guy... and most of my life I've been the big fat guy... so I'm turning that around.

I've been lifting for two months now and thus far have dropped my cholesterol 23 points (to the surprise of my physician), I've gained 6 pounds, improved the strength and build in my body over all, but now I'm going to start tracking my progress with photos and stats.

Height: 6'
Starting weight: 215

Here's the routine I'm planning on doing:

Day 1
Deadlifts (5x5)
Low Cable Rows (3x8)
BB Bench Press (5x5)
Incline DB Flyes (3x8)
Calf Raises (3x8) - don't need much work
Decline Crunches (3x10)

Day 2
Back Squats (5x5)
Leg Curls (3x10)
Leg Press (3x8)
BB Bicep Curl (5x5)
Hammer Curls (3x8)

Day 3
Rest

Day 4
Chin Ups (5x5)
Lat Pull Downs (3x8)
Military Press (5x5)
Standing Side DB raises (3x8)
Standing Calf Raises (3x8)
Decline Crunches (3x10)

Day 5
Romanian Deadlifts (5x5)
Leg Extension (3x8)
Goodmornings (3x8)
Dips (5x5)
Skull Crushers (3x8)

Day 6
Rest

Day 7
Rest