PDA

View Full Version : how to maintain protein

Bruce Calavera
06-29-2007, 10:16 PM
I'm told that by eating your body weight in kilos worth of protein a day, one can maintain his or her body weight.

I'm new to this weight lifting, getting into shape thing and this makes no sense to me. Mainly because I've had times in my life where I've had 80% or more of my diet come from beer and the other 20% from fast food. This did not cause my muscles to fall apart. I have a roomate who consumes at least 6 40oz a day as his entire diet and he still has muscle on his bones(I understand this has cause several other problems). It's not defined or up to par by any means but it's there. Another thing is that his body can't be converting fat into muscle because that's impossible.

How does one not loose muscle when they have almost no daily protein intake. And why should I believe that I need to eat my body weight in grams of protein to gain muscle. Exactly how much protein does an 87 kilo male have to consume to just "maintain" his muscle.

I'm just really confused on the science of the subject and the reality that I've seen.

Howard 9
06-29-2007, 10:29 PM
Protein has nothing to do with maintaining your weight, increasing it, or losing it. Calories do.

Caloric Excess = Weight Gain
Caloric Matienence = Stay the same weight
Caloric Deficit = Weight Loss

I don't know about kilos, but I would shoot for 1.25g per LB of protein a day.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=protein+muscles+why&btnG=Google+Search

Bruce Calavera
06-29-2007, 10:58 PM
So I'm supposed to be eating 250g of protein a day to increase muscle mass. On a college income how would one effectively accomplish this all the while paying bills.

The Champion
06-30-2007, 12:18 AM
So I'm supposed to be eating 250g of protein a day to increase muscle mass. On a college income how would one effectively accomplish this all the while paying bills.

If you have a meal plan with the school... LOAD UP THE BUFFET.