PDA

View Full Version : Slow losing

Mark!
06-30-2007, 12:45 PM
When I started dieting, and working out back in February, I weighed 424.3 lbs. I realized I had to do something, being 22, always being big, but growing sick of it, tired of not being able to do things I should be doing. I've always wanted to be in Law Enforcement, and decided what better time to start than then? So, now I'm here down to 359. Here's my dilemma. I'm new to this whole dieting and losing weight thing, ha. At times, it seems like I lost 2-3 pounds a week, then other weeks I stick at a weight. Is this normal? I want to be down to at least 250 by this time next year, I think I can get real close, if not pushing past that mark. Any advice as to how to go about a steady weight loss? Or is it just fluctuation on and off the whole time.

dscarth
06-30-2007, 01:53 PM
There are variations of dieting/cutting that people perform. Some people account for a weekly refeed, and I reason the logic behind it is your body might be going into a starvation mode and want to hold onto its fat, which you want to prevent from happening, so one day a week you eat near your maintenence cals instead of being at a defecit.

424 to 359 in 4 months is great progress! I'm sort of in your boat (unhappy then decided I need to get off my ass and do something about it). Weight training is great but you will want to incorporate cardio to get some of the pounds to come off.

Built made a great article "how to do cardio if you must" which is HIIT, which is highly reccomended if you havent already. Keep in mind 2-3lbs a week is what is considered safe, achievable, and maintainable weight loss, so that really isnt bad as you think. If you havent already, track your food intake, weight, and activity on fitday.com

Mr. D
06-30-2007, 02:30 PM
at your weight, you should stay away from high impact, high intensity cardio. It just might be too tough on the joints. The HIIT would be best reserved for when you get to that last level.