PDA

View Full Version : What Bodyweight Exercises?

teenathlete3030
06-30-2007, 09:52 PM
I'm adding bodyweight strength training to my workouts because basically I started lifting weights first, and what benefit will that give me if I can't maneuver my own body first? Plus, look at gymnasts. They use mostly all bodyweight training and a vast majority are stronger than a lot of gym rats. Plus some of this stuff would be cool to show off at partys and stuff. :thumbup:

I'll keep lifting weights, but probably drop the volume on upper body and use more bodyweight strength exercises. Lower body training will stay the same, except I'll probably add in pistol squats.

Anyways, here's what I was thinking. I can't yet do all (or nearly any) of these exercises but I'll work on the progressions until I get there:

Planche pushup
Handstand pushup
Front Lever pullup
One hand pullup

And ab exercises such as:

Janda situp? (want something that doesn't require a partner or money spend on more equipment, that defeats the purpose)
Dragon Flag
One arm standing "evil wheel"

Does anyone have sugguestions as to any other exercises they would use or drop from this list and reasons why? Also, frequency and intensity. I read that when doing isometric progressions (like frog stands for the planches) you can perform them everyday, or Mon,Tue,Thur,Fri for the best benefit with recovery. What about the ab exercises?

And...Should I go for a progression in all the exercises each time I train? It would make more sense to me to use only one bodypart progression on a certain training day and mix it up (ex: Front lever or one-arm pullup but not both on same day). I am just starting to learn about these exercises but any advise would be appreciated.

Hazerboy
07-01-2007, 05:42 PM