PDA

View Full Version : Front of shins and running?

roscoe24
07-04-2007, 05:44 AM
Hey guys and girls
I had been working solidly with wbb1 for about 4-5 months and managed to pack on about 15kgs, before being struck down with glandular fever and losing 10kgs, some would view this as a bad thing but to see myself down 10kgs, at least half+ of it being fat has given me a new realisation of what i was building hidden away whilst bulking lol.....anyways i have decided as soon as the doc ok's it i will be back in the gym on wbb1.1 (trying to learn as much before i do) but also wanna try keep some of the fat off through cardio and diet of course.Anyways theres my life story now for the question lol....

I like to run on the treadmills and am hoping to try some High intensity training but i have a genetic issue with the muscle on the front of my shin (not sure of name of the muscle) it is over developed for my leg size and i have poor circulation to it. I can only run for maybe 5mins before it becomes extremely sore and takes any slight enjoyment i get out of running lol...anyone got any ideas was thinking maybe rowing machine? will this help keep the weight off as efficiently as running?
Thanks in advance...
Roscoe

markdk86
07-04-2007, 06:40 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shin_splints

Al3X
07-04-2007, 07:06 AM
It's shin splints. You need stretch really well prior and after. Try to run on softer surfaces.

RedSpikeyThing
07-04-2007, 07:29 AM
shin splints suck. Ice your legs and take it easy for a while. I find that once you've had them they are very easy to aggrevate again.

markdk86
07-04-2007, 07:53 AM
It really has nothing to do with the surface, it has to do with your posture and form when you run. Correct that and the pain goes away.

roscoe24
07-04-2007, 08:52 AM
cheers for all your help guys

Relentless
07-04-2007, 09:42 AM
www.stridemechanics.com