PDA

View Full Version : Squat Form Check (& Hang Cleans)

philou123
07-10-2007, 09:48 AM
Ok so last week I posted a vid of me "squatting" 315x1: http://www.wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?t=98838

From the feedback I got it was quite clear that I had some work to do on my form. So I did my homework (watched vids and read up on it) and gave squatting another shot yesterday. Watching myself I think I could go a couple inches lower, but overall I think it's much better already. Let me know what ya'll think.

225lbs x 8
8QWVJldVXfM

Also, while I had my camera at the gym I decided to record myself doing Hang Cleans because I'm fairly new to this exercise and it's pretty technical. Feel free to comment.

145lbs x 5
Mdu9STsWD4k

Rock Steady
07-10-2007, 10:08 AM
Squats do look much better, but you could go another couple inches lower like you said. Also, you may not want to lock your knees out like that each rep - you're not doing them any favors.

I don't know much about hang cleans, but it looks like you need to lower the weight and work on your form. You don't seem to have complete control.

Keith
07-10-2007, 10:16 AM
Your squats didn't reach parallel on any rep but they have improved a lot since your last vid. As Rock Steady stated, don't fully lock out the knees. I could be wrong about this, but it somewhat looks like you're bending from the knees first. Try driving back with your hips first and allow all the weight to be on your heels.

RBB
07-10-2007, 10:28 AM
it somewhat looks like you're bending from the knees first. Try driving back with your hips first and allow all the weight to be on your heels.

exactly. try to really sit back into it, don't bend your knees at first. squats looked a lot better this time. hang cleans looked ok, but i'm no expert on those. the lady behind you in the red shirt had me laughing my ass off, she looked like she was working hard, lol.

TheLion
07-10-2007, 10:31 AM