PDA

View Full Version : Bulking Question

SEC100
07-13-2007, 04:29 PM
hey everyone,

I'm going to start bulking on monday. My body build is somewhat of an ectomorph - meaning I'm genetically very skinny and a hardgainer - however, I know that if I eat enough I can gain weight. I'm going to start on monday and eat 2,500 calories everyday for the entire week and then weigh myself. Here is the question: If I gain say 1 or 2 lbs in that week should I still add more calories? Basically I want to know how much weight I should optimally be gaining a week w/ heavy lifting during a bulk??? Is 2 lbs a week too much or not enough??

Remember I am just starting out and I'm really really skinny so the sky is the limit. Thanks!

BigBossMan
07-13-2007, 04:39 PM
It really depends on your goals.....and a little more info is always helpful like weight, height, bf% etc....

as far as bulking goes from what I understand it depends on how much fat you wanna gain with your muscle. I would say that if you were gaining 2lbs a week 1 would be muscle 1 would be fat. But I would also say that I doubt you will gain anything eating 2500 cals a day. Unless you weigh 115.

I would recommend tracking on www.fitday.com finding out how much you are eating now and slowly ramp up cals by 250 until you start gaining.

SEC100
07-13-2007, 06:52 PM
I'm 5'10" and about 145.

First time bodybuilding. Going to do WWB 1.1. I dont mind gaining a little fat as I bulk. So, you think with WWB 1.1 and eating as much whole foods as possible in order to gain 2 lbs a week or could I be doing better??

I'll start at 3,000 and work up from there until Im gaining 2 lbs a week (so I dont get that bloated look)

What do you guys think?? Is this the best regime I can have as a beginer??

BigBossMan
07-13-2007, 07:51 PM
I would recommend tracking on www.fitday.com finding out how much you are eating now and slowly ramp up cals by 250 until you start gaining.