PDA

View Full Version : Clarity on calories in vs. calories out.

Mimic
07-18-2007, 03:56 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum, first I just want to say hello.

I've been doing some basic dieting and lifting for about two years, dropped from 280 (who knows BF) down to 180 (BF 23%), I'm now at 210 (BF 19%). I've really gotten serious about weight training over the last three or four months, instead of some basic easy lifting, I've been hitting it pretty hard. It's taken me from 23% down to 19% and now I'm at a stand still, not really worried, but my goal is 10% so I have to really buckle down and tighten up my diet.

I am a little unsure on the calorie counting I'm getting into. My maintenance (if figured right) is 3,200 calories. So, to lose some pounds, I need to eat about 2,700 calories.

Now, this is where I'm unsure about. Say I eat 2,700 calories, now I am 500 below so I should start dropping some weight, but I also lift weights pretty vigorously over my lunch break (gym is next door). Say I use 500 calories there. Now, I go running with my wife at about 8:30p.m. Say I use 500 calories there too. Is that still counted as a 500 calorie deficit because I at 2,700, or would that be a 1,500 deficit because of the 500 deficit, the 500 weight training, and the 500 cardio? That would only put me at about 1,700.

I'm sorry if this was covered in the other topics, but I wasn't sure what to call this for the search so I didn't get anything directly related and I didn't find anything about counting that in some of the article I have read.

Thanks for the help.

Bako Lifter
07-18-2007, 04:17 PM
That's a good question. I've always wondered about that too.

You said you found your maintenace calories right? I'm assuming you did this by tracking what you ate over a period of time and checking averages.