PDA

View Full Version : My 405lbs Deadlift Finally Recorded For Critique

-Superman-
07-22-2007, 04:18 PM
Here is my deadlift I just did today. There weren't too many people at the gym so I wasn't embarrassed to tape myself. A couple of ex-weightlifters have said I should be able to deadlift a lot more since my form sucks. Let me hear your opinion. Keep in mind that I am new to deadlifting (less than 1 year) and I don't use a belt and I never have back pain from it. Thanks. :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9ze1KIrhz8

ray34iyf
07-22-2007, 04:32 PM
I'm no expert by any means but I'd say that you'd want to pinch your shoulder blades together tight before you descend. This helps you to keep your ass and chest out during the movement.
Upper back tight and arched. Ass and chest out and tight. Squeeze it off the floor and lock that biotch out.

Other than that..looking damn strong.

Rusty
07-22-2007, 05:02 PM
I'm sorry, I couldn't critique your lift because I just can't take my eyes off that guy doing those pathetic front squats in the background. But from what my peripheral eye cought, your lower back was far from tight.

cphafner
07-22-2007, 05:04 PM
boo gloves.

Get your shoulders back, chest out, and use more leg drive.

RedSpikeyThing
07-22-2007, 05:04 PM
congrats on the PR, 4 plates is heavy! And for the critique: your hips came up early. Keep the arch tight and focus on pulling back instead of up.

MPB
07-22-2007, 05:06 PM
I'm sorry, I couldn't critique your lift because I just can't take my eyes off that guy doing those pathetic front squats in the background.
And it seemed like a good way to kill his wrists too, I don't think the bar was even resting on his body.

Tofer
07-22-2007, 05:10 PM