I'm talking about as sold as a body building supplement, rather than an ingredient.
As I understand it, whey is obtained when manufacturing cheese, so it would depend upon whether an animal rennet is used. But what about other additives such as enzymes (so the whey is "pre-digested"?) ?
Are there any brands which actually label their products as "suitable for vegetarians" or are preferred by vegetarians?
:/ I never heard of a veggie-Protein supplement, But yes to my knowledge whey protein is supposedly derived from CheeZ, and if your Vegetarian your probably not getting enough protein, so..
Go GET SOME!
Check out the link for more info.
<=Real Sword, Fake Glow.
Research that s*** up son. <me
Gyno Rhino: "I think your cyber-game just sucks."
Brawl: "Fill it with rocks , walk up to the sales dude and hit him in the face with it . When he falls down kick him in the neck and say " this stuff is junk "."
Brawl: "Or grab a bottle bust it on the table and stab him in his neck"
whey = derived from milk. milk comes from cows!
I guess soy protein would be a choice for vegetarians, since it comes from soy beans...
My profile picture is about 5 years old, I'll get around to taking some progress pics eventually.
Whey is a milk product so assuming you are lacto-vegetarian it would depend on how strict you are.
I don't know the process but if rennet is used to make cheese and whey is extracted during that process but has no rennet in it, would you care? Personally I don't.
For that matter, I believe that bone marrow is used in the process to whiten refined sugar.
Absolute strictness is a virtual impossibility unless you farm your own food so I don't worry about it.
If your proverbial ethical glass is 99% full then don't worry about the 1% empty is kind of the approach that I take.
If the only thing you are holding is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.