The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

It’s no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS

Hybrid View

Wannabebig Member

My routine. Need thoughts and help.

I'm a beginner with free weights at my home. I'm not looking to become huge, just slightly bigger. I wont say a weight because I can't guess.

But here's my routine for my upperbody:

I do 2 sets. When I get to 8 Reps of a particular weight I increase the weight. I leave one minute between the first and 2nd set, I rarely get as many out in my 2nd set, it's more for endurance I guess.

Tricep Extensions
    Bicep Curls
    Hammer Curls
    Close grip Chest press
    Shoulder Press
    Behind Head Shoulder Press (I don't know it's actual name)
    Bent Over Rows
    Upward Rows
    Deadlifts
    Chest Press Wide Grip
    Shrugs
    Lateral Raises
    1 Arm Bent Row
    1 Arm Shrugs
    Overhead Rows

I'm wondering if this is ok or do I need more exercises for different body parts? I'm thinking about dropping the "Behind the Head Shoulder Press" and the "Deadlifts" because I keep hurting my shoulder and my back from poor technique. I'm strapped for time, it takes approx. 2 hours for that routine.

I do that 3-4 times a week depending on how I feel. (I normally take a 2 day break over the weeked). Do I need a larger break?