The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Itís no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS

Hybrid View

Improving clean and jerk

Clean and jerk is the one lift I would really like to improve on. I seem to be stuck at around 170lbs though; I've been doing them for a couple months and it hasn't increased.

So my question is when improving the amount of weight you can do is it more form or muscle strength related?

I know for a fact that my form isn't very good. For some reason I just can't squat at any point during the motion (unless I've already caught it on my chest then do an actual front squat). It just doesn't feel natural. Also I cannot for the life of me get my elbows out. I've had this problem since high school. I get the weight onto my chest but my elbows stay straight. I can't even forcefully push them out; they just won't go that far.

I've watched numerous clean and jerk videos here and elsewhere but I still must be doing something wrong. Unfortunately I can't get video of me doing high weight because my gym won't allow it. So here's me doing kind of what I do with heavier weight.

Video

Oh, and I left out the jerk because the weight is so small that it wouldn't be relevant... and I think my jerk is fine for now.
    Last edited by CleverName; 10-11-2007 at 03:08 PM.