The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Its no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS
    Wannabebig Member

Weight Lifting and Acne (Possible Connection?)

I've been lifting about 4 years now. I started lifting my freshmen year of college at 135lbs and pushed myself up to around 190lbs this past summer. Around the same time I developed some pretty brutal cystic acne on / around my chin. I figured it was a coming of age thing, especially since I tended to be a late bloomer. I went to a dermatologist, was put on antibiotics, and it seemed to lessen the amount and frequency, but I still got one huge pimple, about every week, on / around my chin.

I went to Europe for 3 weeks this past summer. Decided not to lift / exercise those 3 weeks so I could drink a lot of German beer (haha) and see the sites etc. Didn't get a single pimple, even with the binge drinking and walking all day in hot weather.

I figured my acne came from the increased levels of testosterone caused by building muscle and eating a ton of meat. I still haven't had a pimple since. My skin has totally cleared up. I was wondering if something similar has happened to anyone else? I asked my dermatologist about it and he said weight lifting doesn't cause acne. However, I'm skeptical.