Thread: new rules of lifting vs. ripptoes starting strength

Hybrid View

new rules of lifting vs. ripptoes starting strength

For those of you that have read NROL and starting strength, which do you think has better routines. I've been doing the NROL routines now for about 6 months, and I have been getting some great gains from it. The routines are INTENSE. Every time I come home from the gym, my ass is WHOOPED. After reading a lot about the popularity of the Bill Starr and Ripptoe routines though, I'm starting to think that the NROL routines may be a bit overkill.

The Ripptoe routine has only 3 lifts per workout, and it has only 1 set of deadlifts. It just simply doesn't seem like enough especially with only 1 set of deads, but everyone here says it's a great workout. I'm just wondering what everyones thoughts are.

You've already answered your question. Rippetoe's is a better routine.

Quote Originally Posted by Kastro View Post
    You've already answered your question. Rippetoe's is a better routine.
    You're the one who told me about the supercompensation theory, aren't you? Well, NROL has been working well for me, and many people would say why stop what's been working? Well, I'm going with the majority opinion here, and everyone is saying full-body, 3x per week is the way to go for maximum muscle mass, so I'll give it a shot.

I was actually thinking more along the lines of Bill Starr's routine instead (just because it has more sets of deadlifts, and I really like deadlifts). People say to do Rippetoe's routine before Bill Starr's, but NROL is pretty intense so I think it's fair to say 6 months of it is a good enough "break-in" to prepare me for Bill Starr's routine.