The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Its no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS

Went from skinny to average. Now I need help getting to the next level--getting BIG!

Ok, let me mention first that I had a completely different goal last year when I started lifting than I do this year. Last year I just wanted to go from being horribly skinny and unhealthy looking to looking average for my height. However, since I've seen how much confidence I've gotten, my goal is now to seriously get into weightlifting and actually get big. I've made tremendous progress and I'm really proud of myself, but now I know I have a tough road ahead of me.

For the past year as I said, I honestly didn't take weightlifting too seriously. I've always benched since I started, but I never did deadlifts or squats. At the risk of sounding like a total pussy, I'm actually afraid of doing squats(falling backwards, knee giving out, etc.) And I refuse to use the Smith machine for squats because it looks so incredibly gay using it for them. There is a machine where you load weight onto each side and then have two pads on each shoulder and do squats standing on a slant. I don't know how good that is, but obviously not as good as real squats.