Page 1 of 251 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Rookie's Thread - Adventures of a Trainer

Rookie's Thread - Adventures of a Trainer

Ok, so I got my first year of training in, I'm still a rookie at this and need to continue to experiment and find out what will and won't work for me. I'm hoping this journal will help me figure that out. If anyone peeks and wants to offer helpful opinions , advice or just comments, please do.

Goals:

I'm training for muscle size and lower BF. I'll train for strength just to help out the first goal but I'm not specifically trying to do any powerlifting. I've just finished a mild(?) bulking session and have added cardio to start my cutting session.

Training:

Iíve tried a number of splits, 3 day and 4 day in the past and I'm finding that 3 days works best for my schedule at the moment. Iíve never done a split like the WBB routines, so since Iím posting a journal here at WBB, I figure that I might as well give them a try. So Iíll start with workout one for 8 to 12 weeks. I generally give my routines 2 to 3 months to see if something works or not. I will however, sub in various exercises as the weeks progress sometimes just try something new.

So my current routine will look like this:

Sat - AM: Chest & Back
    Mon - PM: Legs
    Wed - PM: Arms & Shoulders

My lifts are pretty sad however, they have progressed over time and I'll be looking forward to some added improvements with this new routine.
    Last edited by rookiebldr; 03-20-2004 at 01:10 PM.

March 15, 2002

Cardio:

None

Training. Chest / Back / Traps Ė 1hr 10mins

I forgot to get the WBB routine prior to Friday night and for some reason I was getting an error message back from the site. So, I guessed the routine based on what I remembered. I always do a little cardio when I first get in to up the heart rate and warm up the muscles, then my first exercise of the body part I will do 2 warmup sets which I have not listed.

LDBP: 55*10, 65*6,5,6
    IDBP: 50*4,8,6