Thread: How do I go about getting back in shape?

Wannabebig Member

How do I go about getting back in shape?

Im an ex-athlete so I have always been in shape. Up until my senior year of college last year I was 6"4 205-210 and muscular. Now after I graduated I have been working to save up to go to grad school next year and havent touched a bball for almost a year and it has killed my body. Now I'm 6"4 228-230. How do I go about losing it, I never had to try to be in good shape before.

Do I just start going back to what I used to do..play lots of bball and lift a little or do I have to diet as well. And if I need to diet how do you think it would take to get back to my playing weight. I'm moving to California mid July and I want to be in shape by then.

Lift heavy and get lotsa protein. Aim for around 2500 calories a day. Try that for 2 weeks. Adjust calories accordingly if you're not losing any weight. Protein is important, so you keep most of your muscle while losing mostly body fat.

Some people get the idea that you need to do cardio to lose weight, or if you're lifting it should be low weight and high reps. Bull****. Lift heavy. And don't drink soda.

If you're dedicated, you should be able to get down to around 205 by July.

Also, Suns > Lakers
    ::::::::::::::::::::Updated 9-16-11::::::::::::::::::::
    Deadlift 1x5 @ 408 Squat Max @ 370
    CG Bench 1x7 @ 225 Power Clean Max @ 235
    W Chinups 3x10 @ +50 Dips 1x5 @ +115

Height - 6'3 Weight - 194lbs Age - 21

"I've got a theory that if you give 100% all of the time, somehow things will work out in the end." - Larry Bird

Quote Originally Posted by Lakers24 View Post