Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is horizontal pulling really necessary (compared to vertical pulling)

Is vertical pulling really necessary (compared to horizontal pulling)

TITLE SHOULD BE
    "Is vertical pulling really necessary (compared to horizontal pulling)"
    (got confused with horizontal and vertical pulls, so I got them mixed up)

Day 1:
    -DE BP
    -Shoulders
    -Lats

Day 2:
    -ME DL/SQ
    -Low back/Hamstrings
    -Quads

Day 4:
    -ME BP
    -Triceps
    -Lats

Day 5:
    -DE SQ/DL
    -Low back/Hamstrings
    -Quads

This is a template I've been using for a few months, and all of lifts are going up steadily except bb rows. I've been doing weighted pull ups on DE BP day, and rows on ME BP.

My question is, it seems like westside really emphasizes on lots of heavy rows and even in Mark Rippetoe's and Bill Starr's routines, pull ups and lat pulldowns are nowhere to be seen (only recommended as optional exercises). This makes me wonder, is vertical pulling really necessary if my concern is being a good bencher/deadlifter/squatter (and military press). Is vertical pulling as important as horizontal pulling? Do you guys put any emphasis on vertical pulling, or just purely focus on heavy rows all the time?
    Last edited by MPB; 08-15-2008 at 02:58 PM.

Banned
    Both - the heavy rows help more with deadlifting and building up the entire back. The pulldowns and pullups are for lats and upperback work, essential for pressing. You might try Pendlay Rows if you want to switch it up.

I think I've heard Mr. Mason saying he doesn't pay that much attention to pull ups, just rows (I could be wrong though), and his back & deadlift are freaky as hell.