The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

It’s no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS

Losing weight and building muscle

Hey

I've been dieting for about 2 months now and think I've lost a bit of weight. I've also been lifting weights for about a month. I'm definately getting stronger as I've had to up the amount of weight I lift a couple of times. I have a couple of questions:

1. I've read on a few sites that you can't lose weight and build muscle at the same time, but on others I've read that you can. Can anyone tell me for real if you can or can't?

2. Another thing I've read as true on some sites and false on others is that you can work out your abs daily and don't need rest days. Is this true?

3. Every second day I lift weights for about half an hour (bicep curls, bench press, chest flies, and lifting up above my head). Right after I do a 10 minute run also. Would it be best to run every day, or on the days I do weights, or on the days that I don't do weights? My primary goal is weight loss but I'd also like to build muscle (depending on answer to question 1).

Thanks for your help
    Last edited by Guido; 10-02-2008 at 03:06 PM.

2.    Support Wannabebig and use AtLarge Nutrition Supplements!

Quote Originally Posted by greemah View Post
    Hey