Thread: Is it possible---Lose wieght but gain/maintain muslce?

Wannabebig Member

Is it possible---Lose wieght but gain/maintain muslce?

I am just curious if it is possible to lose wieght while at the same time maintaining mabye even gaining muscle? What kind of diet do you need to have to lose weight but gain/maintain muscle? If someone could elaborate I would appreciate it!

Thanks

It is possible. Check out UD 2.0 for elaboration.

Wannabebig Member
    Yes.
    I know that some will say no, but I am doing it right now. Honestly though, I think it depends on your body type. If you are already a lean person then I would think it's much harder (if not impossible) to cut while gaining muscle. But if you start off kinda fat, all you really need to do is eat clean and lift. even if you are eating your maintenance calories or more, the pounds will come off.
    I started lifting in October and I have lost about 14 lbs. and I have definitely put on some muscle at the same time.
    Heart pounding, legs burning, hands shaking........

NEVER FELT BETTER !

5'11"
    230 lbs.

I was always confused if people meant losing fat as is lowering BF% or actually losing the fat. If you gain muscle faster than you gain fat, wouldn't that technically make your percentage of fat go down without necessarily losing actual fat tissue?
    22 - 5'10@236lbs!
    Bench - 325 (old)
    Squat - 455x2 (old)
    Deadlift - 500(old)

Total: 1280lbs 100% raw

The key to my exercise program is this one simple truth: I hate my body.

I am losing bf and putting on muscle right now.

I am doing this but having a COMPOUND ONLY split and a spot on diet.
    Last edited by ZenMonkey; 12-08-2008 at 02:24 PM.
    Sarvamangalam!

Quote Originally Posted by berfles View Post