Thread: Squat stance

Hybrid View

Squat stance

What are your thoughts on a shoulder wide,feet pointed straight ahead stance on squats? Were talking power here,not some bodybuilding iso type movement.
    Had a football coach give me his feelings on squats today,and he thought the above mentioned was the way to squat.
    I've been working hard with these kids to go wider the shoulder width,feet 45 degree angle out,etc.

Ryan Hale

I like just slightly wider then shoulder width squats with my feet angled outwards at about 35 - 45 degrees. I find that there is a "sweet spot" regarding the stance where I'm able to move the weight up the easiest. I used to squat with a very wide, powerlifting stance, but I don't like that way.
    How to Find Your Dream Job
    My personal blog/website dedicated to giving answers on the age old question - how to escape the "rat race". I now play guitar for a living!

Banned
    If I am squatting raw I'll go pretty narrow, shoulder width at the most. I think my heels are only 8-10 inches apart when I do that.

When I wear gear I'll go almost as wide as the sleeves on the bar we use.

Also, I always point my toes out. No way I can get deep enough with good form if they are pointed straight out.
    Last edited by Reko; 12-08-2008 at 02:21 PM.

I go a little bit wider than shoulder width with my feet pointed slightly out to the sides. I'd say if the people are flexible enough to squat narrow with feet straight forward, great, if not, let them use the stance that allows them to squat well.

Andrew
    Do what needs to be done.

Every time I was in the hole I swear a turd kissed my underwear. - Hatred
    I love snatch. I think I'm addicted to it. - Stray
    I like a woman I can climb - Jinkies
    Personally ... I'm a vagitarian - Brawl
    I don't box, but I'll have a dance off with any of you tools. When I get all my 230 lbs shaking and grooving you bet your a$$es you'll get served. - BilltheButcher

Banned