Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stubborn Arms

Stubborn Arms

Having real trouble putting mass on my arms, and have done ever since I started lifting weights 4 years ago. Despite being 224lbs at present (Although I am 6ft 3") I only have 15 1/2" arms. The biggest they've been was 16" when I was 235lbs.

Because I'm so tall they still look gangly despite the fact I'm fairly well built now so it looks out of proportion. Especially considering my forearms are 13 1/2".

I've tried training Bi's and Tri's twice a week, varying reps, heavier weights etc. but still progress is very slow. I know a lot of it is down to genes and I have very good shoulder genes but lack a lot in the arms. Here's what I do at present for my arms-

Bi's
    Preacher BB Curl
    21's (7 half way up, 7 from half way up, 7 full)
    I've recently substituted the 21's for concentration curls but to no avail.

Tri's
    Close Grip Bench Press (Chest?/Tri's)
    Tricep Pulldown's with ropes
    Single arm Tri Pulls

Anyone have any tips? Looking at the above sets make me think adding another set to each but I've always read that with Bi's and Tri's being such small muscles it's best not to overdo it as I only generally do 3 sets for Back, Chest, Shoulders etc..

For pictures of my pathetic stubborn arms please see this thread-
    http://www.wannabebigforums.com/show...39#post2060939

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...oto-0087-1.jpg
    I think this pic best shows my crappy arms, although it's still a bit flattering IMO, I catch myself in the mirror that they look the smallest, rather than posing like a tart .

More compound movements, less isolation. Also, squat and deadlift or overall size.

compound movements, for just targeting arms? really? i would have thought the opposite, since he wants his arms bigger he should be doing more isolation movements.

Quote Originally Posted by nockits View Post