Thread: New To Lifting. Couple Quik Questions. Looking For Some Guidance.

Wannabebig New Member

New To Lifting. Couple Quik Questions. Looking For Some Guidance.

I am somewhat new to lifting. Ive been lifting for the past 3 months. Mixing weights and about 45-60 mins of cardio also. I can already see gains in my lifting and a larger frame. I can't seem to cut body fat though. My diet consists of about 4-6 small meals a day. I just started taking hydroxycut. I work out about 5 times a week. I take protein after a workout and eat shortly there after.

Basically I am going for 6-8% body fat. Any supplements that have worked for you? Anything to change/add to my workout routine?

Also, with a good workout routine and good diet, how much body fat should I expect to lose each month?

I am 6'1" and about 180lbs and 16% body fat.

Thanks, I appreciate all the help and guidance.

It sounds like you are headed in the right direction. Let's take a look at every factor within your overall program and break things down to make sure that you have the most effective regimen in place.

Training:
    Weight Training should be 3 times per week - Two upper body days and one lower body day. Circuit training works well for new trainees and try to incorporate a variation of machines and free weights. Cardio 3-4 times per week. 30-45 minute sessions would work best for Fat Loss, including a 5 minute warmup. Interval training would be most effective and variation is important so be sure to switch up the equipment frequently. Since you are going to the gym 5 times per week I would do 2 days weight training, 1 day weights / cardio, and 2 days just cardio.

Diet: