Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I got owned in the gym today

Banned

I got owned in the gym today

I always seem to make good gains when I switch my routine up every 8 weeks or so. So I was on bill starr's 5x5 for 8 weeks...got past many of my plateaus. I decided to do starting strength this week. Monday went fine..pretty much the same as Bill Starr's. However, today I had to add military press to my regimen. HOLY ****. I got absolutely destroyed by them. I have never done them before so I started with just the bar first. That felt nice and easy obviously...so I figured ill put a 25 on each side. Um...I could barely do 5...my shoulders felt like they were going to explode with all the blood flowing through them. Thats only 95 pounds...I felt like a huge NOOB.

Mind you, my max bench press is 285 and I am on 250 for my 5x5...

So I guess lesson learned today is: bench press strength has nothing to do with military press strength . Hopefully it is vice versa though.

Banned
    somebody found a weakness...

I hear you there. I never did a standing oh press before until I did starting strength. Most I ever did was 30lb bells for a seated press so I started out pretty low with them. They are tough to progress on also.

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Reko View Post
    I am very glad I found a weakness...more motivation now.

Wannabebig Member
    Plus the motion is different your going to use more balance, and its a smaller muscle group.

If you are benching 250 x 5 you will increase your ohp fast. Just don't give up and realize some pain is involved. At least they always feel uncomfortable to me.
    Check out my journal:
    http://www.wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?t=117073

Goal To be the Strongest Huggins! - started again on 2/24/11 then again 2/27/12
    squat: 420 405 x 5
    bench: 355 320 x 3
    deadlift: 455 420 x 3
    Total 1215 on a single day