Thread: Does the height of the bench matter?

Hybrid View

Does the height of the bench matter?

My bench has been going up really slow and I've been struggling to get a 3x5 at 185 for the last week and a half. Before that I struggled at 180 for a week and a half. So, my bench is going up much more slowly than my squats and deads.

I have added some skull crushers the last two weeks so those could be the answser to my question.

Last bench (on Friday) I did 185 for 5 reps, 4 reps, and 3 reps. And I struggled to get those.

Today, I hit 5 reps for all three sets and they were easy. Didn't struggle to get the last reps up in any of the sets. Trying to head off the "this is a dumb post because you hit 5.4.3 last week and 5,5,5 this week - big deal" response. I agree, it wouldn't be a big deal except for how easy the 3x5 went up compared to how much I struggled with all my might to get 5,4,3 last week.

Today I lifed at a 24 hour fitness. I have been lifting at home for the last 2+ months. The benches at the 24 hour fitness are at least 6 inches lower to the ground than my home bench.

My hamstring cramped up on the last couple of reps for the last two sets. However, not sure if that is a factor or not because I played basketball for an hour earlier in the day and I haven't played basketball in forever so I'm assuming the cramp was from that and the fact that I squatted just before doing the bench. However, it did make me wonder if the lower bench let me use my legs more. I kept my *** on the bench but of course arched the back as usual.

I'm 6'3" tall so I can easily get my feet flat on the floor with my taller bench at home.