Thread: Firefighter strength/endurance routine

Hybrid View

Wannabebig New Member

Firefighter strength/endurance routine

I am a firefighter, currently volunteer in two relatively busy companies, and I am taking the next couple of tests coming up for paid companies. I work out a few times a week, but recently I have hit a plateau. I was wondering if anyone has heard of any good firefighter related workouts or would be able to help me out making my own. Obviously my goals are raw strength and endurance, and I do not need to focus on size or definition. My current workout is as follows:

Day 1

BB Bench 4x5
    Incline Bench 3x7
    Pec. Flys- 2x8
    Decline Pec. Flys 2x8
    Incline Pec. Flys 2x8
    Tri. Pulldowns- 3x6

Day 2

Chin Ups (3 sets until failure)
    Pull ups (2 sets until failure)
    Wide grip chin ups (1 set)
    Close grip chin ups (1 set)
    Dead lifts 3x5
    BB Rows 3x8
    Shrugs 3x6
    Bicep curls 3x8
    Lateral BB raises

Day 3 is a repeat of day 1
    Day 4 is a repeat of day 2
    Days 5,6, and 7 are days off

Following each workout I do a few sets of decline sit ups and back extensions, then either bike, jog, or run bleachers for 20 min.

I try to keep the breaks in between sets very short, and I usually complete the lifting portion of my workout in 30-45 min.

I know it's a lot to ask, but any critique/help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Wannabebig Member
    For your goals, thats not a bad setup. You'd be better off doing 1 set of flyes on day 1, or none at all. It's too much volume to be doing 3 different types of flyes.

The pull day doesn't look bad. As long as you can handle all of that volume.
    I'd say the only real worry is too much volume. It's good to work towards muscular endurance but sometimes too much volume can be bad on your body and CNS.

Overall good routine. I myself am looking toward going to a fire academy in Orlando, FL once i graduate.
    17 years old
    6'1 243
    Best lifts: