Thread: Blue Collar and the Food Service Industry.

Blue Collar and the Food Service Industry.

Yeah, you look down on them. Hell, you may even spit on the thought of blue collar workers, but god damn they are there!

I'm a bit pissed, I just finished talking with air-craft engineer that has recently been laid off and has taken up commercial cleaning to get by. He is happy enough, but the only thing that's getting him down is the way he is getting treated. Office workers snub him when attempts to politely greet them - before he cleans after them. Managers of the agency remind him of how they can employ someone who does a faster job for less, just to make sure he "knows his place".

"Hi, I'm an air-craft engineer, which toilets would you like me to clean first?" That just don't sound right...

Now, the food service industry. Busy. The world goes to **** and I'm left to feed everyone. Suddenly eating in is a better idea, I don't blame anyone for that. McDonalds will soon be the busiest it has been in over a decade, perfect price pointed meals! I've sold tenfold of what I used to when I started my humble career in food production, and its keeping my fit - thats for sure!

But I digress;

I work anti-social hours, I love the time I get with my family, the pay is amazing (I've paid more in tax this month than I did last year!), but something is niggling at me. I seem to be looked down upon, as soon as I state that I'm a butcher - I get a look of pity, or disdain. I'm referred to as 'scum', just as the air-craft cleaner metioned before. I'm not sure I understand?