Thread: Am I supposed to be able to do more weight when doing cleans from plates?

Am I supposed to be able to do more weight when doing cleans from plates?

to elaborate, cleans while the bar is set at a fixed height just below the knees (on top of plates).

now, i only started doing cleans a few months ago because my college strength coach (t&f) told me to... so i'm a pretty big newb in that department. i just don't understand the point of doing them off of plates. i certainly can't use more weight that way (maybe even a little less), seems like it's just limiting the amount of momentum i'm allowed to use...

tips? thoughts? how much more weight can *you* clean off of plates as opposed to conventional off-the-ground cleans?

I think he's trying to shorten the range of motion. eventually, you'll be pulling with the 45lb plates and he's trying to simulate that while not using that type of weight.
    H: 5'7" W:185
    Goals: 495 -315 -585

“Persistence Persistence.” - Calvin Coolidge.
    "I'm so pissed at how dumb this thread is that I think I'll go kick my cat. Again"-Belial
    "I mean, it's kind of like neutering your cat, hoping that'll stop your dog from humping your leg." - Belial
    Journal

LuNa
    Quote Originally Posted by Dgro View Post
    to elaborate, cleans while the bar is set at a fixed height just below the knees (on top of plates).

now, i only started doing cleans a few months ago because my college strength coach (t&f) told me to... so i'm a pretty big newb in that department. i just don't understand the point of doing them off of plates. i certainly can't use more weight that way (maybe even a little less), seems like it's just limiting the amount of momentum i'm allowed to use...

tips? thoughts? how much more weight can *you* clean off of plates as opposed to conventional off-the-ground cleans?