Thread: triceps training

Hybrid View

triceps training

i was wondering how many times a week you guys train your triceps. i only train em once per week- about 2 sets after my bench training. i only do bench once per week as well. my dad is trying to talk me into doing triceps 2x a week- once after bench, and once 3 days later- just a "light" one. i have been training for about 17 years- and have always done a bodypart only once per week. i train for power and strength- no bodybuilder here.

I think what you have been doing has worked very well for you so far (think you have a 495 raw bench, not sure how much you get out of a shirt).
    Most train triceps twice a week, I like doing em twice per week and it seems to be working well but as I said what you are doing has worked for you so far.
    Squat briefs only 625 @ 210
    Bench geared 525 @ 210
    Deadlift geared 650 @ 220

Captains of Crush #3

Building Mighty Mitts...

i reckon i have ZERO technique in a shirt so far- but working on it. my dads theory is that i should use the 2nd day as an 'active recovery' and do some light sets- i am new to band presses and board presses etc- and i think that will shock the triceps into getting stronger. he seems to think that the 2nd triceps workout will help them to heal faster.
    Last edited by allan3; 09-10-2009 at 05:26 PM.

Twice. After my ME day I'll usually train them heavier, and on DE I'll usually go lighter and for more volume. I agree with your dad btw, some active recovery work is great for any muscle group, but especially the tri's as they take a beating with heavy benching.
    My Training Log

You want science and studies? **** you. I've got scars and blood and vomit. - Jim Wendler

Quote Originally Posted by allan3 View Post