Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My Mission to Put on Serious Mass

Wannabebig Member

My Mission to Put on Serious Mass

Hello,

Im making a journal of my new routine that I have just started this week. I recently started lifting about 4 months ago on and off, but now I want to start taking this more seriously and hopefully see some serious gains.

A little information about me. Im 6'1 and 191 pounds, since Ive started lifting Ive gained about 15 pounds.

My goals are to gain mass and become stronger. Initially I thought I would like to bulk to about 210 - 215, but we will see how it goes.

My diet isnt 100% where it should be, but Im trying. Damn its alot of food to consume in a day. Right now Im probably getting about 130 grams of protein a day, not enough I know.

Well here is the exercise I will be using, its basically Starting Strength with a tiny add on. I know people say I shouldnt add anything on, but it has been suggested in an article I was reading. The program is as follows:

Workout A
    3x5 Squat
    3x5 Bench Press
    1x5 Deadlift
    2x5-8 dips (only add weight if you are doing >10 bodyweight dips)

Workout B
    3x5 Squat
    3x5 Standing military press
    3x5 Pendlay Rows (or power cleans for 5x3, 5 sets of 3 reps apiece)
    2x5-8 chinups ***if you do the power cleans, do 3 sets of chinups***

Daily accessory work:
    -45 degree Decline bench weighted situps, 3x5 (hold body parallel to ground for static 5 seconds each repetition on the way down, then go down slowly and come back up)
    -Hyperextensions - 3x8 (hold weight across chest or small barbell across back, and don't swing past parallel) - reverse hypers are preferable, but I don't know too many gyms with a reverse hyper.

This program is done 3 days a week just like the real SS.

Thanks for your input.

Wannabebig Member
    25 Nov 2009 (Week One)

Workout A

Squat 3x5 115pnds
    Dumbbell Flat Bench 3x5 40pnds
    Deadlift 1x5 192pnds
    Assisted Dips 2x8 55pnds