The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Itís no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS

how do you teach someone squatting for their first time good form?

hey guys.... i am no expert whatsoever (and only 17) but lately people @ my gym have been seeing me squat deep and have been coming to me for advice on their squat. I feel flattered that people older and some more experienced than i am ask me for advice about their form, but at the same time even though i can spot errors i don't know how to help all of the time.

Today i was doing front squats and this guy came and asked to work in. I wasn't sure whether or not he was doing GMs or squats, and he said it was his first time doing squats and asked me for advice. I told him to keep his whole body tight, heels flat on the ground, and to stick his ass out to start the movement and then descend, and to push up off his heels on the way up. Every time he went down (he could barely reach parallel if that far) his back went down like he was doing a GM. I then told him to keep his head high and look at some sign on the wall, and even though his posture was great it still looked like he was doing a GM..