Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3x5 bench/overhead just don't work for me

3x5 bench/overhead just don't work for me

For about 8 months I have been doing 3x5 routines (3x5 for the big 3 and overhead press, and 3x10-15 for curls, chins, and dips). I have definately been eating enough, as I have been gaining fat. However, as usual I hit a wall very quickly for my bench and overhead press. All other lifts are progressing. I was only adding 1kg per week (2.2lbs, the minimum I can do). When I was a beginner I was doing 3x8 which made better gains, but could have been newbie gains.

Is it possible 3x5 for pressing movements just don't work for my body? Has this been the case for anyone else? I do 3x5 squats and 1x5 deads and they seem to go well. Progress on 3x12-15 on chins/dips seem to go up the fastest

Wannabebig Member
    Hit your big muscle groups harder, I think. Shock your body. Try this workout (or something similar)

Chest day 1: Bench 5x5, Close grip bench or skullcrushers/tri ext 3x5 - then do your supplemental work like shoulder press, curls, etc
    Chest day 2: Bench 8x3 @ 60-70% 1RM - Do this controlled, but explosive - continue workout as normal

Do this for a week or two and see if anything changes. The day 2 is a dynamic training day and should help your body become more explosive.

Your body becomes used to what it has to do. If you are doing 3x5 twice a week, EVERY week, your body 'knows' that's whats going to happen. TRICK IT! SHOCK IT!

Let me know how that works and/or if you have questions!
    CURRENT: 6'2 @ 260
    TARGET: 6'2 @ 225
    BY: August 1, 2010

What are your numbers like?
    Are you using linear progression?
    Have you cycled the weights down and ramped back up?
    How often do you do those exercises?
    _________
    ______
    ___

Off Road Journal

http://www.wannabebig.com/logo/alnlogo_white.gif

AtLarge Nutrition Supplements Get the best supplements and help support Wannabebig!

Banned