Thread: Squat question, help appreciated

Smeagol on Steroids Mercuryblade's Avatar

Squat question, help appreciated

So I've noticed that when I get done with a set I experience pain in my hips.
    Any ideas on why this might be?
    Do I need to warm up more? Am I possible moving more laterally during the lift than I should? Stance too wide/too narrow? I have really long legs and a pretty short torso if that makes any kind of difference...

Obviously it's not possible to give me a 100% accurate diagnosis without seeing what I look like when I squat but any things I should be watching for or doing the next time I get into the rack are greatly appreciated.
    http://www.senseaboutscience.org.uk/

Starting Current
    Bench: 45 lbs Bench: 235 lbs
    Squat: 95 lbs Squat: 285 lbs
    Deadlift: 100 lbs Deadlift: 330 lbs

i am not too experienced, but have you been doing dynamic stretching? I had hip pain about 2 months ago and it really began to subside when i started doing a lot of dynamic stretching. Squatting heavy also felt much easier after warming up properly.

Be more specific about your pain. Saying your "hips" hurt can mean a bunch things. Does it feel muscular or is it in the joint itself? Is it in the front or back or side? What specific motions cause pain? Can you lift your legs to the front, side, back without pain? Is it in the groin area or outside of the hip?
    Of course it won't hurt to try and do a more extensive dynamic warm-up prior to squatting, but it's hard to give any more specific advice without more specifics about where you are experiencing pain.

Quote Originally Posted by Sean S View Post