The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Itís no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS
    Banned

Dumbbell Shoulder Press help

Hey everyone.
    I'm 16 years old and I've been lifting for 6 months now. I am currently facing a problem with the dumbbell shoulder press (seated), which is my main exercise for shoulders. I can press a pair of 66 lbs dbs (yes, the weight may sound weird, but the metric system is used where I live, and I use 30 kg, which is 66 lbs) for 10 reps, with full range of motion ( I touch my shoulders on every rep with the dumbbells). Therefore, this weight is currently too light for me, as I would like a weight with which I could perform 6-7 reps. Unfortunately, the next heaviest dumbbells at my gym weigh 77 lbs (35 kg, an 11 lbs increase), and I can only get them for 3 reps before my shoulders fail. As you can see, I have plateaued, and it is really frustrating me, as the db shoulder press is one of my favorite lifts. What advice do you guys have for me? Any help is much appreciated.
    Thanks.

2.    Support Wannabebig and use AtLarge Nutrition Supplements!

tape 2.5 lb plates on each side of the dumbbells

or do barbell OH presses
    5'6
    191.5lbs 8% BF
    25 yrs old
    prepping for my first show!

drop sets starting with the heavier ones.... or 10 sets of 2 with them.