Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which ab exercise is most practical to progress/add weight?

eek... it's lil' Fixation! fixationdarknes's Avatar

Which ab exercise is most practical to progress/add weight?

I've been doing some leg lift variations at the gym here and there, but decided that if I am going to spend a bit of time working my abs that I should have an exercise that either allows me to make progressive gains somehow or be able to add weight to. With leg lifts it would seem rather impractical to hold dumbbells between my ankles or something (and I'm not going to do 1000000 reps because that's a waste of time, even though so many people do that!). Or maybe holding a dumbbell there would be fine? I wouldn't know, I've never tried it with leg lifts before.

I guess a typical answer would be weighted decline crunches, but I'm wondering if there's anything else people do.

Anyway, any input is appreciated.
    Last edited by fixationdarknes; 03-31-2010 at 02:21 AM.
    Lifting Journal
    Age: 20, Height: 5'7", Weight: 165, Deadlift: 405, 9.5" Squat: 230 x 10, Bench: 195 (3x5)

Quote Originally Posted by fatrb38
    I try to visualize that my girlfriend is under the weight and I have to push the weight up to save her. Of course it doesn't work and I just laugh as I think about the weight slowly crushing her bones. Then I remember it's me under the weight and give 200% effort to push it back up.

Cable Crunches.
    "When you promise yourself something, make a commitment, you can't give up. Because, when you're in the gym, you have to fulfill the promise you made to yourself. The people who can self motivate - in any field - are usually the ones who win. Regardless of talent." T. Platz

Smeagol on Steroids Mercuryblade's Avatar
    Weighted crunches, when you max out at 45lbs, start adding incline.

I do leg lifts with a dumbell between my legs, it's not impractical at all, just use your feet to hold the weight.
    http://www.senseaboutscience.org.uk/