Thread: DannyMcG tries his hand at HCT-12:

Daniel

DannyMcG tries his hand at HCT-12:

OK, I'm Daniel and I've decided to try the HCT-12 routine as I haven't received one word of bad advice from the knowledgeable lifters here at WBB. I'm a 16 year old student in New Zealand and I enjoy lifting weights as I love feeling stronger, more muscular and it's something that I enjoy doing that I can see myself continuing in the long-term.

Stats:

Weight: 150 lbs (from a measly 128 lbs).
    Calories: ~3100.
    Physical activity: I play soccer (some of you may be thinking "what?!", but I'm a defender and size is something that will help me achieve more dominance in my position). I also play Rugby from time to time.
    Program: 3-day cycle adapted to fit my busy schedule.
    Height: 5'9" (or just over).

Ok I think that's enough stats for now. Here's my first day of the new program (all weights measured in lbs):

Bench Press (An exercise that needs improvement for me):

Bar x 6
    66 x 6
    77 x 6
    89 x 6
    99 x 6
    105 x 6
    111 x 6
    116 x 6
    121 x 5 (got distracted by an irritating sound on the radio that was playing, decided to lower weight and do the clusters based on info in the FAQ)
    116 x 2 + 2 + 2 (not too challenging, perhaps I should've tried the clusters with 121).

Military Press (I normally do seated dumbbell press so this exercise felt very new):

Bar x 6
    55 x 3
    66 x 6
    77 x 6
    83 lbs x 6 + 2 + 2 + 2 (the six wasn't too bad but the clusters were hard, I'm expecting quick gains in this exercise as it was my first time trying it).

Lat Pulldown (I want to weighted pull-ups but I don't know how to add the weight):

75 x 6
    90 x 6
    105 x 6
    112 x 6
    120 x 6
    130 x 6 + 2 + 2 + 2 (Exercise doesn't feel as functional or effective as pull-ups, but oh well).

Close-grip bench press:

Bar x 6
    66 x 6
    77 x 6
    89 x 6
    100 x 6
    105 x 6 + 2 + 2 + 2 (a pretty decent set).

Barbell Rows: