Thread: just finished track, now I can lift more

Hybrid View

Wannabebig New Member

just finished track, now I can lift more

Hi Forum, I'm new here, so a bit about me. I just finished my last season of collegiate track and field, where I focused on the 400 and the 800 (I hit 53.9 and 2:03.6 in relays, so I wasn't amazing, but it was D III). This past year I started lifting more, and I both enjoyed it and suspect that it helped me make big improvements this year. However, I generally tried to keep the lifting a small part of my routine, because for track,each pound of muscle is another pound weighing you down in that crucial last quarter of the race when you can barely see and want to die.

But now I'm done, and I want to run less and lift more. I was formerly running 35-40 miles a week and lifting twice a week, now I'm probably going to run 20 and lift 3 times a week. I'm 5'8" and weigh 145 lbs; I've got a small frame. I did some single rep maxes last week and can bench 175 and squat 255. So now I'm going to start a 3 day routine and I wanted some feedback on it.

First, a bit about my goals. #1, I want to be healthy. for me this means keeping a balanced approach to exercise, getting stronger but keeping up my aerobic capacity, balance, flexibility, etc. #2, I'd like to be stronger, ideally someday squatting twice my body weight (i'm not that far) and doing a planche push up (I'm very far). #3, I'd like to be a bit more muscular, although ideally I'd gain no more than 5 lbs. Goals 2 and 3 are obviously intertwined.

So, here's my planned weekly schedule.

Sunday: 8-10 miles cross country running.

Monday: Day 1 Routine. Day 1. bench press, 12/10/8, 115, 130, 140, matched with dumbbell single leg deadlift, 3x5.each leg with 2 10 lb. dumbbells. Calf raises, around the world lunges, Bulgarian isometric split squat.