Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Exactly does "RAW" Mean?

Wannabebig Member

What Exactly does "RAW" Mean?

I know this is a super dumb question, but I am slightly confused...

I've read here and there that RAW means, basically, you do your lifts with no special equipment. I assumed this meant no lifting shirts, squat suits, wraps, straps, and so on,

However (this is where I got confused) I see videos of guys doing RAW lifts who seem to be wearing wearing suits and wraps and gloves and straps out the ying yang.

So, just to clear things up, what does RAW mean? And what exactly is considered "Special Equipment"?

I'm new to the whole powerlifting competition thing, so any help understanding this stuff is much appreciated.

Thanks

Raw means what ever you think it does. Some feds allow just a belt, some allow a belt and wrist wraps, Some feds allow a belt and wrist and knee wraps. Just lift in the feds you agree with as you have choices.

In no fed is theyre raw division allowing any type of brief suit or shirt though.
    Last edited by ScottYard; 08-15-2010 at 05:41 AM.
    Best raw meet lifts
    Squat:765 with wraps. / 700 raw with out wraps
    Bench: 525
    Deadlift: 755
    Total: Raw with wraps: 2000. with out wraps: 1925

Best lifts Equipped
    1050, 840, 715. Total: 2605

Representing AtLarge Nutrition and EliteFTS

Almost forgot........some feds allow neoprene sleeves while some feds allow heavy cloth sleeves. So again raw is what you want it to be lol.
    Best raw meet lifts

Best lifts Equipped

Wannabebig New Member
    You didn't see suits, you saw singlets.

Wannabebig Member

The Raw Deal

Right now raw is one of two things, with or without knee wraps. That's how the records read. A belt is a given . Wrist wraps don't add any weight to your lifts nor do knee sleeves. Both serve as a "comfort" thing for the lifter. Knee wraps can add plenty weight to a squat that is why knee wrap meets have much higher numbers than non knee wrap meets.